Suzdal Estate

Large estate house is located in the heart of Suzdal town on the bank of Kamenka river. Ensemble should preserve the history of the estate that existed here as well as become an important part of the town’s panorama that opens from the Kremlin’s walls on the opposite bank.

The point of renovation was to define the building’s merits as well find a place for artistic expression. This is how the concept of dense “original” building was created. Wooden houses are delicately united with a modern structure. The building is merged into the town’s skyline although it subtly stands out with its light contemporary forms. They shine through the gaps between “historic” facades either with the arrowslit-like window or with the roof-piercing towers. Wood-carved décor of facades reminds of museum’s exhibits — neutral background defines the lace of window frames and ledges.

Traditional decor contrasts with a modern black metal terrace. Minimalist structure reduces the historicism of the wooden parts, although this space does have an element of a play. Among the pillars there is a wood-carved column. This is the element of traditional wood construction, which is a source of inspiration for many generations of artists — among them is the sculptor Constantin Brâncuși.

Architecture: Olga Treivas, Vera Odyn, Polina Nenasheva, Idrees Suliman, Mikhail Shishin, Elizaveta Shishina, Sergey Silkov
Project Management: Alina Yaroshenko, Konstantin Bichurin
Status: Completed
Location: Suzdal
Area: 500 m2
Year: 2017–2019
Photography: Yuri Palmin

    Usadba 1

  • The point of renovation was to define the building’s merits as well find a place for artistic expression

  • Usadba 2
    Usadba 3
    Usadba 4

  • The building is merged into the town’s skyline although it subtly stands out with its light contemporary forms

  • Usadba 5
    Usadba 6

  • Wood-carved décor of facades reminds of museum’s exhibits — neutral background defines the lace of window frames and ledges

  • Usadba 7
    Usadba 8

    Usadba 9

  • Minimalist terrace reduces the historicism of the wooden parts, although this space does have an element of a play

  • Usadba 10
    Usadba 11
    Usadba 12

Усадьба в Суздале

Большой усадебный дом расположен в центре Суздаля, на берегу реки Каменки. Ансамбль участка должен сохранить его историю, а также стать важной частью городской панорамы, открывающейся со стен Кремля на противоположном берегу.

В ходе реконструкции было важно выявить достоинства здания и, вместе с тем, найти место для творческого самовыражения. Так появилась концепция плотной «исторической» застройки, деревянные домики которой объединены современной структурой. Дом вписан в панораму города, но деликатно выделяется светлыми современными объемами, возникающими в просветах между «историческими» фасадами: то окном-бойницей, то прорезающими кровлю башенками. Расположенные на их фоне резные фасады напоминают музейные экспонаты — нейтральное обрамление выгодно оттеняет кружево наличников, карнизов и причелин.

Традиционный декор контрастирует и с современной верандой из черного металла. Минималистичная конструкция снижает театральность деревянных вставок, но и это пространство не лишено элемента игры: среди опор веранды можно рассмотреть резную колонну. Это традиционный элемент деревянного зодчества, неисчерпаемого источника вдохновения для многих поколений художников — в том числе, и для скульптора Константина Бранкузи.

Архитектура: Ольга Трейвас, Вера Одынь, Полина Ненашева, Идрис Сулиман, Михаил Шишин, Елизавета Шишина, Сергей Силков
Менеджмент проекта: Алина Ярошенко, Константин Бичурин
Статус: Реализация
Место: Суздаль
Площадь: 500 м2
Год: 2017–2019
Фотографии: Юрий Пальмин

    Usadba 1

  • В ходе реконструкции было важно выявить достоинства здания и, вместе с тем, найти место для творческого самовыражения.

  • Usadba 2
    Usadba 3
    Usadba 4

  • Дом вписан в панораму города, но деликатно выделяется светлыми современными объемами, возникающими в просветах между «историческими» фасадами: то окном-бойницей, то прорезающими кровлю башенками

  • Usadba 5
    Usadba 6

  • Расположенные на светлом фоне фасады напоминают музейные экспонаты — нейтральное обрамление выгодно оттеняет кружево наличников, карнизов и причелин

  • Usadba 7
    Usadba 8

    Usadba 9

  • Минималистичная веранда снижает театральность деревянной резьбы, но и это пространство не лишено элемента игры

  • Usadba 10
    Usadba 11
    Usadba 12