MMOMA 99/19

“MMOMA 99/12” exhibition is made to time of the 20th anniversary of Moscow museum of modern art. The projects continues the line of anniversary exhibitions of MMOMA — “Open Day” (2009 — 2010) and “Fortune Museum” (2014 — 2015). The main theme of these projects is to show MMOMA’s collection in a new way as well as its historic building in Petrovka, 25 created by famous architect Matvey Kazakov.

Exhibition’s turning point is an artwork “Everything Is Going To Be Alright” by British artist Martin Creed — for a few years this neon writing welcomes the visitors of MMOMA at the entrance. In the exhibition’s design neon goes inside — a party vibe was created with the help of different light scenarios in stiff enfilades of the mansion. Grids of luminescent lamps reference the so-called Y2K style that as well as MMOMA came up between the millenniums. This esthetic, both eerie and alluring, was born in contradictions between old and new, analog and cyber world. That is the way the MMOMA’s collection is, where paintings of 19th century are mixed with media art.

The exhibition occupies 20 halls (one for every year of MMOMA’s existence), each hall has its own curator. Due to its anniversary museum has invited professionals from different fields to rethink the collection. There are experts from expected theatre and fashion as well as surprising like digital technologies and perfume. Each hall is designed in collaboration with their authors — the exhibition design itself became the curator’s portrait

Architecture: Olga Treivas, Vera Odyn, Elena Kornilova, Sanchir Dzhalsanov
Light design: Vlad Oblasov
Project management: Alina Yaroshenko, Konstantin Bichurin
Client: ММОМА
Curators: Diana Dzhangveladze, Maria Doronina
Co-curators: Zurab Tsereteli, Bernard Blistène, Martin Creed, Mikhail Alshibaya, Alyona Doletskaya, Andrey Malakhov, Vladimir Mukhin, Olga Treivas, Diana Vishneva, Alisa Khazanova, Fedor Konyukhov, Ilya Lagutenko, Andrey Artemov, Oleg Voskoboinikov, Frédéric Malle, Kirill Serebrennikov, Keti Chukhrov, Fedor Smolov, a voice assistant Marusia
Status: Completed
Location: Moscow
Area: 2500 m2
Year: 2019
Photography: Olga Alekseenko

    MMOMA 1

  • Exhibition’s turning point is an artwork “Everything Is Going To Be Alright” by British artist Martin Creed — for a few years this neon writing welcomes the visitors of MMOMA at the entrance

  • MMOMA 2
    MMOMA 3
    MMOMA 4
    MMOMA 5

  • In the exhibition’s design neon goes inside — a party vibe was created with the help of different light scenarios in stiff enfilades of the mansion

  • MMOMA 6
    MMOMA 7
    MMOMA 8
    0U0A9592
    MMOMA 9

  • Grids of luminescent lamps reference the so-called Y2K style that as well as MMOMA came up between the millenniums

  • MMOMA 10
    MMOMA 11
    MMOMA 12
    MMOMA 13

  • Due to its anniversary museum has invited professionals from different fields to rethink the collection. There are experts from expected theatre and fashion as well as surprising like digital technologies and perfume

  • MMOMA 14
    MMOMA 15
    MMOMA 16
    MMOMA 17

  • The exhibition has 20 co-authors — Zurab Tsereteli, Bernard Blistène, Martin Creed, Mikhail Alshibaya, Alyona Doletskaya, Andrey Malakhov, Vladimir Mukhin, Olga Treivas, Diana Vishneva, Alisa Khazanova, Fedor Konyukhov, Ilya Lagutenko, Andrey Artemov, Oleg Voskoboinikov, Frédéric Malle, Kirill Serebrennikov, Keti Chukhrov, Fedor Smolov, a voice assistant Marusia

  • MMOMA 18

    MMOMA 20

    MMOMA 19

    MMOMA 21

  • Each hall is designed in collaboration with their authors — the exhibition design itself became the curator’s portrait

  • MMOMA 22

    MMOMA 23

    MMOMA 24

    MMOMA 25

    MMOMA 26

    MMOMA 27

MMOMA 99/19

Выставка «ММОМА 99/19» приурочена к двадцатилетию Московского музея современного искусства. Проект продолжает линию юбилейных экспозиций ММОМА «День открытых дверей» (2009 — 2010) и «Музей с предсказаниями» (2014 – 2015). Общая концепция этих выставок — показать в новом качестве экспонаты из обширной коллекции ММОМА, а также его историческое здание на Петровке 25, построенное знаменитым архитектором Матвеем Казаковым.

Главной отправной точкой для архитектурного решения экспозиции стала работа британского художника Мартина Крида «Все будет хорошо» — уже несколько лет эта неоновая надпись встречает зрителей ММОМА у входа. На выставке «99/19» неон уходит внутрь музея — с помощью разных световых сценариев в чинных анфиладах особняка создана атмосфера шумной вечеринки. В сетках из люминесцентных ламп есть явная отсылка к так называемому стилю Y2K, который, как и музей, появился на рубеже тысячелетий. Эта одновременно зловещая и притягательная эстетика родилась в противоречии старого и нового, аналогового и цифрового. Такой стала и коллекция ММОМА, в которой работы XIX столетия соседствуют с медиаискусством.

Выставка занимает 20 залов (по одному — на каждый год существования ММОМА), у каждого из них — свой куратор. В честь юбилея музей пригласил для осмысления своей коллекции экспертов из самых разных областей, от закономерных театра и моды до неожиданных информационных технологий и парфюмерии. Каждый из залов индивидуален и оформлен в сотрудничестве с его автором, в результате чего не только экспозиция, но и выставочный дизайн получился своеобразным портретом ее кураторов.

Архитектура: Ольга Трейвас, Вера Одынь, Елена Корнилова, Санчир Джалсанов
Световой дизайн: Влад Обласов
Менеджмент проекта: Алина Ярошенко, Константин Бичурин
Заказчик: ММОМА
Кураторы: Диана Джангвеладзе, Мария Доронина
Сокураторы: Зураб Церетели, Бернар Блистин, Мартин Крид, Михаил Алшибая, Алена Долецкая, Андрей Малахов, Владимир Мухин, Ольга Трейвас, Диана Вишнева, Алиса Хазанова, Федор Конюхов, Илья Лагутенко, Андрей Артемов, Олег Воскобойников, Фредерик Маль, Кирилл Серебренников, Кети Чухров, Владимир Сорокин, Федор Смолов, голосовой помощник Marusia
Статус: Реализация
Место: Москва
Площадь: 2500 м2
Год: 2019
Фотографии: Ольга Алексеенко

    MMOMA 1
  • Главной отправной точкой для архитектурного решения экспозиции стала работа британского художника Мартина Крида «Все будет хорошо» — уже несколько лет эта неоновая надпись встречает зрителей ММОМА у входа

  • MMOMA 2
    MMOMA 3
    MMOMA 4
    MMOMA 5

  • На выставке «99/19» неон уходит внутрь музея — с помощью разных световых сценариев в чинных анфиладах особняка создана атмосфера шумной вечеринки

  • MMOMA 6
    MMOMA 7
    MMOMA 8
    0U0A9592
    MMOMA 9

  • В сетках из люминесцентных ламп есть явная отсылка к так называемому стилю Y2K, который, как и музей, появился на рубеже тысячелетий

  • MMOMA 10
    MMOMA 11
    MMOMA 12
    MMOMA 13

  • В честь юбилея музей пригласил для осмысления своей коллекции экспертов из самых разных областей, от закономерных театра и моды до неожиданных информационных технологий и парфюмерии

  • MMOMA 14
    MMOMA 15
    MMOMA 16
    MMOMA 17

  • У выставки 20 соавторов — Зураб Церетели, Бернар Блистин, Мартин Крид, Михаил Алшибая, Алена Долецкая, Андрей Малахов, Владимир Мухин, Ольга Трейвас, Диана Вишнева, Алиса Хазанова, Федор Конюхов, Илья Лагутенко, Андрей Артемов, Олег Воскобойников, Фредерик Маль, Кирилл Серебренников, Кети Чухров, Владимир Сорокин, Федор Смолов, голосовой помощник Marusia

  • MMOMA 18

    MMOMA 20

    MMOMA 19

    MMOMA 21

  • Каждый из залов индивидуален и оформлен в сотрудничестве с его автором, в результате чего не только экспозиция, но и выставочный дизайн получился своеобразным портретом ее кураторов

  • MMOMA 22

    MMOMA 23

    MMOMA 24

    MMOMA 25

    MMOMA 26

    MMOMA 27