Krymsky Val 9/45

In 2018 the book Krymsky Val 9/45, a Hidden Monument of Gorky Park was published. It is a joint project accomplished by historians Marianna Evstratova and Sergey Koluzakov, the publishing group ABC design, Kuchkovo Pole publishing house and the Garage Museum of Contemporary Art.

The story goes back to 2012. The Garage Museum of Contemporary Art was to be relocated to Gorky park and it needed a headquarters. The park administration suggested to house it in the left half of the building next to the Krymsky Bridge. Anton Belov, the museum director, contracted FORM bureau to design the building.

Making a start on the three-storey building, which had accommodated a large plumbing supplies shop, the architects uncovered rich history behind the 2000 redecoration. These discoveries provided a foundation for the book.

The project and the book were tackled simultaneously. It turned out that the small building near the Krymsky Bridge that everyone had seen but almost no one could recall was a true architectural palimpsest.

It dates back to the late 19th century, to the building of Nikolai Bromley’s shipyard on the Moskva river, a red brick industrial construction with a roofed passage leading to the river. The modern house still conserves the brick arches of the shipyard.

The building had several major makeovers and at different times housed a pavilion for the first All-Union Agricultural Exhibition, the GOZNAK workers’ club, one of the first sound motion cinemas, public baths, a warehouse and a plumbing supplies shop.

Despite the fact that the office building is quite integral from the outside, it has existed for over half a century as two separate blocks with the cinema ruin in its centre, caused by a German air raid. The ruin can only be seen from the inside as it is divided by two blind facades.

The building was reinvented many times and quite a few prominent architects worked on its design, including Sergey Sherwood, Alexey Shchusev, El Lissitzky, Vasily Voinov and Rodrigo da Costa, the Stenberg brothers and Alexander Deineka. In order to illustrate its transformations the architects of FORM bureau created several graphic reconstructions based on plans, drawings and sectional views of each historical stage.

Team

FORM: Olga Treivas, Vera Odyn, Polina Patimova, Polina Litvinenko, Alina Yaroshenko, Kristina Timchyk, Idrees Suleiman, Svetlana Dudina, Konstantin Kim, Mikhail Mikadze
Garage Museum of Contemporary Art: Anton Belov, Olga Dubitskaya
Graphic design and layout — ABCdesign: Dmitry Mordvintsev, Daniil Bondarenko, Tatyana Borisova
Svyaz Epoch Foundation: Anastasya Evdokimova, Ekaterina Schepalova, Eugeniya Yakimova
Historians: Marianna Evstratova, Boris Pasternak, Sergey Koluzakov

Photo of the book: ABCdesign
Photo of the building: Yuri Palmin
Photo of the model: Expo Park
The book also features Ilya Lokshin’s photographs

Publisher: Svyaz Epoch Foundation
The year of publishing: 2018

  • Book
  • Making a start on the three-storey building, which had accommodated a large plumbing supplies shop, the architects uncovered rich history behind the 2000 redecoration

  • Book title
  • Book material_3
  • Book_5
  • Photo_present
  • Book_3
  • Just like Gorky park itself is perceived as a display of both Soviet and Russian life in its time, this small office building reflects dramatic transformations of epochs and values

  • Ruina
  • Book material_8 copy
  • Book_6
  • Book material_1
  • The research dedicated to the office building near the Krymsky Bridge was part of the curatorial project New Voices in the ARCH Moscow exhibition of 2017. The FORM bureau team spoke about the historical finds, the project of the Garage Museum headquarters and the book to be published

  • Ruin_1
  • Book material_4
  • Model
  • Team
  • Book material_5
  • Model_1
  • Book material_7
  • A large scale research undertaken by the authors of the book enables the architects to complete their work with an insight into historical context and the place of this unique building within

  • 4432 copy
  • Ruin_2

Крымский Вал 9/45

В 2018 году вышла книга «Крымский Вал 9/45. Неизвестный памятник Парка Горького»: совместная работа FORM, историков Марианны Евстратовой и Сергея Колузакова, издательской группы ABCdesign, издательства «Кучково поле» и команды Музея современного искусства «Гараж».

Проект начался в 2012-м году, когда Музей современного искусства «Гараж» готовился к переезду в Парк Горького и нуждался в штаб-квартире. Администрация ЦПКиО предложила музею занять левую половину здания у Крымского моста. В качестве архитекторов директор музея Антон Белов пригласил бюро FORM.

Начав работу с трехэтажным зданием, в котором до этого находился крупный магазин сантехники, архитекторы неожиданно обнаружили, что за ремонтом 2000-х скрывается большая история. Открытия, сделанные в ходе исследований, легли в основу книги.

Работа над проектом и работа над книгой велись параллельно. Оказалось, что маленькое здание у Крымского моста, которое все много раз видели, но мало кто может вспомнить, — настоящий архитектурный палимпсест.

Все началось в конце XIX века, когда на берегу Москвы-реки появилось здание судоремонтного завода Николая Бромлея — краснокирпичное промышленное сооружение с судоремонтным каналом, соединенным с рекой крытым переходом. В сегодняшнем здании сохранились кирпичные арки завода.

Здание много раз существенно перестраивалось и успело побыть павильоном для первой Всесоюзной сельскохозяйственной выставки, клубом работников ГОЗНАКа, одним из первых звуковых кинотеатров, баней, складом и магазином сантехники.
Несмотря на то, что снаружи административное здание имеет вполне целостный вид, больше полувека оно существует как два отдельных объема с руиной кинотеатра по центру, которая появилась в результате немецкого авианалета. Руину видно только изнутри здания — от города ее отделяют два глухих фасада.

Чтобы наглядно визуализировать трансформации здания, над которым в разное время работали Сергей Шервуд, Алексей Щусев, Эль Лисицкий, Василий Войнов и Родриго Дакоста, братья Стенберги и Александр Дейнека, архитекторы FORM создали несколько графических реконструкций, опираясь на планы, чертежи и разрезы каждого из исторических этапов.

Команда

FORM: Ольга Трейвас, Вера Одынь, Полина Патимова, Полина Литвиненко, Алина Ярошенко, Кристина Тимчук, Идрис Сулиман, Светлана Дудина, Константин Ким, Михаил Микадзе

Историки: Марианна Евстратова, Борис Пастернак, Сергей Колузаков
Графический дизайн: ABCdesign
Издание: Фонд «Связь Эпох»

Фото книги: ABCdesign, Музей современного искусства «Гараж»
Фото здания: Юрий Пальмин
Фото макета: Полина Ненашева, «Экспо-парк»
В книге также использованы фотографии Ильи Локшина

  • Book
  • Подобно тому, как сам Парк Горького служил витриной советской, а затем и российской жизни, небольшое административное здание отражает резкие трансформации эпох и ценностей

  • Book_9
  • Book_5
  • Photo_present
  • Book_3
  • Начав работу со зданием, архитекторы обнаружили, что за ремонтом 2000-х скрывается большая история

  • Ruina
  • Book_6
  • Ruin_1
  • Графические реконструкции наглядно показывают трансформации здания

  • Model
  • Team
  • Model_3
  • Model_1
  • Ruin_2
  • Book_present_3
  • Проект-исследование, посвященный административному зданию у Крымского моста, стал частью кураторского проекта «Новые голоса» на Арх-Москве 2017: команда FORM рассказывала об исторических находках, проекте штаб-квартиры Музея «Гараж» и готовящейся книге

  • Book_present_4