Jewish Museum’s Summer Pavilion

Apart from being multifunctional event venue for good weather, the Jewish Museum Summer Pavilion organizes the entrance zone at the museum’s territory. The pavilion that could be seen through the fence welcomes visitors right after passing the inspection area.

The pavilion prepares the viewer’s comprehension of museum itself, located in a building of the former Bakhmetiev garage. The structure is based on a shape of irregular hexagon — dynamic interaction of its sides and corners channels the parallelogram plan of museum’s building. Hexagon is also a trademark of garage’s architect Konstantin Melnikov — windows of this shape are installed in his own house at Krivoarbatsky lane.

Delicate metal framework of the pavilion is inspired by historic ceiling by engineer Vladimir Shukhov, located inside museum. Framework’s details are doubled up by LED-lamps — they form a grid pattern that channels the glass bricks on museum’s façade. Light tree-like columns allow a comfortable accomodation for a large number of people.

Architecture: Olga Treivas, Vera Odyn, Svetlana Dudina, Yulia Semkova
Project management: Konstantin Bichurin, Alina Yaroshenko,
Status: Completed
Location: Moscow
Area: 50 m2
Year: 2016–2018

    JM 4

  • The pavilion prepares the viewer’s comprehension of museum itself, located in a building of the former Bakhmetiev garage

  • JM 7
    JM 2

  • Delicate metal framework of the pavilion is inspired by historic ceiling by engineer Vladimir Shukhov, located inside museum

  • JM 1

Летний павильон Еврейского музея

Помимо многофункциональной площадки для событий в хорошую погоду, важная функция летнего павильона Еврейского музея и центра толерантности — организация входной зоны на территории комплекса: постройка просматривается сквозь ограду и встречает посетителей сразу же после прохождения зоны осмотра.

Павильон подготавливает зрителя к восприятию самого музея, в прошлом — здания Бахметьевского гаража. В основе постройки лежит форма неправильного шестигранника: динамичное взаимодействие его углов и сторон отсылает к «параллелограмму» плана здания музея. К тому же, шестигранник — фактически подпись автора гаража, архитектора Константина Мельникова: окна подобной формы установлены в собственном доме в Кривоарбатском переулке.

Ажурный металический каркас павильона вдохновлен историческими перекрытиями инженера Владимира Шухова, расположенными внутри музея. Детали каркаса, продублированные LED-лампами, образуют сетчатый узор, который перекликается со стеклоблоками на фасаде гаража. Легкие опоры-деревья позволяют комфортно разместиться в павильоне большому количеству посетителей.

Архитектура: Ольга Трейвас, Вера Одынь, Светлана Дудина, Юлия Семкова
Менеджмент проекта: Константин Бичурин, Алина Ярошенко,
Статус: Реализация
Место: Москва
Площадь: 50 м2
Год: 2016–2018

    JM 4

  • Павильон подготавливает зрителя к восприятию самого музея, в прошлом — здания Бахметьевского гаража

  • JM 7
    JM 2

  • Ажурный металический каркас павильона вдохновлен историческими перекрытиями инженера Владимира Шухова, расположенными внутри музея

  • JM 1