Spring and fashion

For almost a year the Hydrometeorology Pavilion at VDNH has turned into an exhibition of the garment collection owned by Alexander Vassiliev, fashion designer and historian.

‘Spring and fashion’, the first exhibition from the cycle of three events, demonstrated the trends of the XX century from the 1920s to the early 1980s. The design of the space brings to mind Soviet department stores from the 1960s, where the restored garments look like outfits which never left the store shelves.

The highly decorative space immerses visitors into an atmosphere of another epoch. The form of a flower petal is the main visual component of exhibition. The chandelier was designed as a geometrical interpretation of the idea of growth and flourishing.

The exhibition emerges onto the facade: podiums form a blossoming flower which can be seen from the outside. Perimeter windows permit to look inside and see intriguing petal constructions attracting the visitor to the exhibition.

Architecture: Olga Treivas, Vera Odyn, Elena Kornilova
Client: VDNH
Curators: Alexander Vassiliev, Cyrille Gassiline
Status: Completed
Location: Moscow, VDNH, Hydrometeorology Pavilion
Area: 490 m2
Year: 2018
Photography: Olga Alekseenko

  • FORM_fashion_1
  • FORM_fashion_2
  • The form of a flower petal is the main visual component of exhibition

  • FORM_fashion_6
  • FORM_fashion_4
  • The exhibition emerges onto the facade

  • FORM_fashion_8
  • FORM_fashion_3
  • FORM_fashion_9
  • Podiums form a blossoming flower which can be seen from the outside

  • FORM_fashion_10

Весна и мода

Павильон №16 «Гидрометеорология» на ВДНХ почти на год стал домом для коллекции Александра Васильева, модельера и историка.
Первая из трех экспозиций цикла, «Весна и мода», рассказывает о моде ХХ века и охватывает период от 1920-х годов до начала 1980-х. Решение выставки напоминает советский универмаг 1960-х, в котором отреставрированные наряды выглядят так, будто никогда не покидали полок магазина.

Намеренная декоративность выставки позволила создать атмосферу другого времени. Форма цветочного лепестка стала основным мотивом экспозиции. Люстра, представляет собой геометрическую интерпретацию флоральных мотивов и иллюстрирует идею роста и расцвета.

Выставка существует не только внутри павильона, но и внедряется на фасад: подиумы для экспонатов образуют распустившийся цветок, который можно увидеть с улицы. Прозрачное стекло по периметру позволяет заглянуть внутрь и увидеть интригующие конструкции-лепестки, заманивающие посетителя на выставку.

Архитектура: Ольга Трейвас, Вера Одынь, Елена Корнилова
Заказчик: ВДНХ
Кураторы: Александр Васильев, Кирилл Гасилин
Статус: Реализация
Место: Москва, ВДНХ, павильон «Гидрометеорология»
Площадь: 490 м2
Год: 2018
Фотографии: Ольга Алексеенко

  • FORM_fashion_1
  • FORM_fashion_2
  • Форма цветочного лепестка стала основным мотивом экспозиции

  • FORM_fashion_6
  • FORM_fashion_4
  • Выставка существует не только внутри павильона, но и внедряется на фасад

  • FORM_fashion_8
  • FORM_fashion_3
  • FORM_fashion_9
  • Подиумы для экспонатов образуют распустившийся цветок, который можно увидеть с улицы

  • FORM_fashion_10