Dream Library

The refurbishment of the library and archive building of Garage Museum of Contemporary Art became the second stage of FORM Bureau’s work with this project. In 2014 it was preceded by a massive renovation of existed building named Cloackroom №2. Since 1940s the building changed its purpose may times — before library and archive it previously housed kindergarten, children’s art studios, ice skate rental facilities and warehouse.

Since its opening the number of visitors as well as the library’s fund increased rapidly, and archive began to shape into important part of the museum. Changes of these institutions’ roles brought the need to reorganize building’s interior and facades.

The project is based on Gorky Park’s heritage. New appearance of library and archive is the collage of its past images as well as the next step of the building’s evolution. Wooden terrace encircles the library — it refers to the open portico that was planned here back in 1940s. The terrace connects all parts of the building. That will remove the fractional outbuildings and create an additional space to rest for every visitor of Salut playground that is located nearby. The roof is elevated above the existing level to let in the ribbon window circling the window’s perimeter. This is a through back to constructivist heritage of Gorky Park. The solution is not only stylistically accurate: it will help to increase the amount of daylight inside the library.

The decoration of facades is the consequence of research into the archive of Gorky Park’s temporary architecture. The image of pavilions that no longer exist has been revived in the voluminous pattern of brick, clinker and ceramic tile made after the patterns of 1920s — 1930s decoration. Retrospective and caring approach develops the idea of a library slash archive as well as idea of collecting the architecture. This is the space where people, history and memory are united under the same roof.

Architecture: Olga Treivas, Vera Odyn, Nikita Morenov, Yulia Belozertseva
Project management: Alina Yaroshenko, Konstantin Bichurin
Client: Garage Museum of Contemporary Art
Status: Concept
Location: Moscow
Year: 2019

    DL5

  • The project is based on Gorky Park’s heritage. New appearance of library and archive is the collage of its past images as well as the next step of the building’s evolution

  • DL8
    DL2
    DL3

  • The roof is elevated above the existing level to let in the ribbon window circling the window’s perimeter. This is a through back to constructivist heritage of Gorky Park. The solution is not only stylistically accurate: it will help to increase the amount of daylight inside the library

  • DL7
    DL1
    DL6/>

  • The decoration of facades is the consequence of research into the archive of Gorky Park’s temporary architecture. The image of pavilions that no longer exist has been revived in the voluminous pattern of brick, clinker and ceramic tile made after the patterns of 1920s — 1930s decoration

  • Триптих_новый
    DL10
    Фото макета_новый

Dream Library

Реконструкция здания библиотеки и архива музея современного искусства «Гараж» стала вторым этапом работы бюро с этим проектом. В 2014 году ему предшествовала масштабная перестройка, в результате которой было модернизировано помещение существовавшего на этом месте так называемого Гардероба №2. Начиная с 1940-х годов здание много раз меняло свое назначение — до библиотеки и архива в нем размещались ясли, детские кружки, прокат коньков и склады.

С момента открытия значительно возросло как количество посетителей, так и фонд библиотеки, а архив начал оформляться в самостоятельный отдел музея. Вместе с изменениями роли этих институций, возник запрос на повторную реорганизацию пространства и обновление фасадов здания.

В основе проекта находится наследие Парка Горького. Новый облик библиотеки и архива — это одновременно коллаж из его предыдущих воплощений и следующая ступень его эволюции. Библиотеку опоясывает деревянная терраса, отсылающая к планировавшимся здесь в 1940-е открытым галереям. Она свяжет все части здания, убрав многочисленные дробные пристройки-тамбуры, а также создаст дополнительное место для отдыха, так необходимое посетителям соседней детской площадки «Салют» всех возрастов. Крыша приподнимается над существующим уровнем, чтобы впустить ленту остекления по периметру здания. Это отсылка к конструктивистскому наследию Парка Горького: такое решение не только стилистически оправданно, но и заметно увеличит количество дневного света внутри библиотеки.

Отделка фасада является следствием работы с архивом временной архитектуры Парка Горького. Образ уже не существующих павильонов Сельскохозяйственной выставки воплотился в объемном рисунке отделки из кирпича, клинкерной и керамической плитки, выложенном согласно узорам их декоративного оформления 1920-х — 1930-х годов. Ретроспективный и бережный подход раскрывает идею библиотеки-архива, транслируя идею коллекционирования с помощью архитектуры. Это пространство, в котором люди, история и память объединяются под одной крышей.

Архитектура: Ольга Трейвас, Вера Одынь, Никита Моренов, Юлия Белозерцева
Менеджмент проекта: Алина Ярошенко, Константин Бичурин
Заказчик: Музей современного искусства «Гараж»
Статус: Концепция
Место: Москва
Год: 2019

    DL5

  • В основе проекта находится наследие Парка Горького. Новый облик библиотеки и архива — это одновременно коллаж из его предыдущих воплощений и следующая ступень его эволюции.

  • DL8
    DL2
    DL3

  • Крыша приподнимается над существующим уровнем, чтобы впустить ленту остекления по периметру здания. Это отсылка к конструктивистскому наследию Парка Горького: такое решение не только стилистически оправданно, но и заметно увеличит количество дневного света внутри библиотеки

  • DL7
    DL1
    DL6/>

  • Отделка фасада является следствием работы с архивом временной архитектуры Парка Горького. Образ уже не существующих павильонов воплотился в объемном рисунке отделки из кирпича, клинкерной и керамической плитки, выложенном согласно узорам их декоративного оформления 1920-х — 1930-х годов

  • Триптих_новый
    DL10
    Фото макета_новый