Garage Museum Artist Residencies

The new ambitious project realised by Garage Museum of Contemporary Art at VDNKh (the Exhibition of Achievements of the National Economy) is Garage Studios and Artist Residencies. Located in the intersection of Knowledge Park and Artisan Park, the new culture zone is within close range of the central alleyway.

The post-constructivist building dating from 1939 emerged as part of the Model Village hosting the School Pavilion. In the late 1950s the building was reconstructed to accommodate a polyclinic for VDNKh employees and in 1971 a long passageway joined it to the new radiology department.

With a view to overhauling the Exhibition, the polyclinic building, which had been standing idle over the recent years, was allotted to Garage Museum. Commissioned to remodel it, FORM had to meet new objectives of creating artist studios. The classroom-lined layout of the building was ideally suited to the task at hand.

As regards visitors, Artist Residencies is the most private museum building for it embraces its intrinsic nature — the work of both artists and curators, which requires total concentration. The facades have been refurbished to preserve their original historical look while the interior, comprising 18 separate working spaces, a shared workshop and painting studios, has minimalist decor. Thus the architecture only sets the stage for artistic experiments and can be gradually saturated with artists’ works.

In order to preserve the spirit of the place, it was crucial to be mindful of the Soviet heritage while renovating the building. The architects conceived it as a monument to the quotidian and an observable sign of the Soviet era. This manifests in the layout that mirrors the logic of the original structure, while extant late Soviet elements of decor — tiles, doors, stained glass and fittings are transformed into nostalgic components within the new design.

Artist Residencies is the first joint project of FORM and Garage Museum beyond Gorky Park. The new function of the building extends its history — initially designed as a comfortable learning setting, it has now become an environment for experiment and freedom of expression in the field of contemporary art.

Architecture: Olga Treivas, Vera Odyn, Polina Litvinenko, Idrees Suliman, Svetlana Dudina, Victoria Kosichenko, Kristina Timchyk
Project managment: Alina Yaroshenko, Konstantin Bichurin
Client: The Garage Museum of Contemporary Art
Status: Completed
Location: Moscow
Area: 1400 m2
Year: 2017–2019
Photography: Ivan Erofeev
© The Garage Museum of Contemporary Art

  • FORM_facade_AR
  • The post-constructivist building dating from 1939 emerged as part of the Model Village hosting the School Pavilion

  • FORM_Collage_AR_small
  • FORM_AR_situation_3
  • FORM_Stages_AR
  • FORM_old photo_build
  • AR_old_3
  • FORM_AR_old_4
  • To preserve the spirit of the place, it was crucial to be mindful of the Soviet heritage

  • FORM_plan_AR_small
  • FORM_axonom_AR
  • Artist Residencies is the most private museum building for it embraces its intrinsic nature — the work of both artists and curators, which requires total concentration

  • FORM_livingroom_AR
  • FORM_axonom_room_AR
  • FORM_hallway_AR
  • FORM_stairs_AR
  • The facades have been refurbished to preserve their original historical look while the interior has minimalist decor

  • FORM_workspace_AR
  • FORM_workspace_3_AR
  • FORM_workspace_4_AR
  • FORM_hallway_2_AR
  • Artist Residencies is the first joint project of FORM and Garage Museum beyond Gorky Park

Арт-резиденции Музея «Гараж»

Арт-резиденции — амбициозный проект, реализованный Музеем современного искусства «Гараж» на территории ВДНХ: новая культурная точка города располагается на пересечении Парка знаний и Парка ремесел недалеко от центральной аллеи Выставки.

Постконструктивистское здание, построенное в 1939 году, появилось на ВДНХ как часть Образцовой деревни — здесь располагался павильон «Школа». В конце 1950-х здание было реконструировано под поликлинику для сотрудников ВДНХ, а в 1971 появилось отделение радиологии, соединенное с основным зданием длинным переходом.

На волне масштабной реорганизации ВДНХ здание поликлиники, пустовавшее в последние годы, было передано Музею «Гараж». По заказу Музея архитектурное бюро FORM перепроектировало здание под новые задачи: кабинетная структура отлично подошла для создания художественных мастерских.

Арт-резиденции — это самое герметичное здание Музея по отношению к посетителю: оно направлено на внутреннее содержание, на работу художников и кураторов, требующую предельной концентрации. Фасады здания обновлены и приближены к исходному историческому виду, а внутреннее пространство — 18 отдельных рабочих мастерских, общая рабочая зона и покрасочная — решено в нейтральном ключе, чтобы архитектура была только фоном для художественных экспериментов и менялась, постепенно наполняясь работами художников.

Обновляя здание, важно было с уважением отнестись к советскому наследию, чтобы сохранить дух места. Архитекторы рассматривали здание как памятник повседневности и значимый след эпохи: планировка повторяет логику исходной, а сохранившиеся позднесоветские элементы — плитка, дверные полотна, витражи и фурнитура — превратились в «ностальгические» компоненты внутри нового интерьера.

Арт-резиденции — первая совместная работа FORM и Музея «Гараж» за пределами Парка Горького. Новая функция здания продолжает его историю: изначально оно было спроектировано для комфортного обучения, сейчас превратилось в среду для экспериментов и свободных высказываний в поле актуального искусства.

Архитектура: Ольга Трейвас, Вера Одынь, Полина Литвиненко, Идрис Сулиман, Светлана Дудина, Виктория Косиченко, Кристина Тимчук
Менеджмент проекта: Алина Ярошенко, Константин Бичурин
Заказчик: Музей современного искусства «Гараж»
Статус: Реализация
Место: Москва
Площадь: 1400 м2
Год: 2017–2019
Фото: Иван Ерофеев
© Музей современного искусства «Гараж»

  • FORM_facade_AR
  • Постконструктивистское здание, построенное в 1939 году, появилось на ВДНХ как часть Образцовой деревни

  • FORM_Collage_AR_small
  • FORM_AR_situation_3
  • FORM_Stages_AR
  • FORM_old photo_build
  • AR_old_3
  • FORM_AR_old_4
  • Важно было с уважением отнестись к советскому наследию, чтобы сохранить дух места

  • FORM_plan_AR_small
  • FORM_axonom_AR
  • Арт-резиденции — это самое герметичное здание Музея по отношению к посетителю: оно направлено на внутреннее содержание

  • FORM_livingroom_AR
  • FORM_axonom_room_AR
  • FORM_hallway_AR
  • FORM_stairs_AR
  • Фасады здания обновлены и приближены к исходному историческому виду, а внутреннее пространство решено в нейтральном ключе

  • FORM_workspace_AR
  • FORM_workspace_3_AR
  • FORM_workspace_4_AR
  • FORM_hallway_2_AR
  • Арт-резиденции — первая совместная работа FORM и Музея «Гараж» за пределами Парка Горького